Color Focus · Winter Dressing

In the Navy

I think navy is the forgotten neutral. It’s a polarizing hue. I think there is a misconception that navy is too mature, too old for young women. But I completely disagree! I love navy. I love that it can be paired with any metallic you want – silver, gold, rose gold, etc. I like to think of it as a stand in for black! A couple of weeks ago I was standing in front of my closet looking for something to put over a pair of light wash jeans and a white tee. I reached for my black blazer and thought “wait, why don’t I wear navy?!” Crazy, I know. I’m a wild woman.

I am super into light wash jeans [see here], so I am loving navy right now. It also pairs really well with white, tan, yellow, silver and gold. I also like to pair it with a bright pop of color, like turquoise or coral, especially in the spring and summer! But for the winter months, I usually stick to wearing it with tan, light denim, leopard and metallics. I struggle with pairing it with black because, while I don’t mind black and navy together, there are definitely better color choices!

Above, I mentioned how navy can read kind of old and mature. So to keep it young and fresh, opt for trendy modern shapes, such as the long cardigan below, the silk W118 by Walter blouse and the Tory Burch cigarette pants. Below are some of my favorite modern navy pieces:

Topshop cardigan

Topshop

Orla Kiely skirt

Orla Kiely

L.K.Bennett

L.K. Bennett

Tory Burch pants

Tory Burch

J.Crew factory blazer

J.Crew factory – this is an amazing closet staple to have!

W118 by Walter Baker blouse

W118 by Walter Baker

Mango tee

Mango

Michael Kors bag

MICHAEL Michael Kors

Calypso hat

Calypso St. Barth

Marc by Marc Jacobs watch

Marc by Marc Jacobs

Kate Spade shoes

Kate Spade

Kate Spade necklace

Kate Spade

Here are some ideas for how to wear navy while keeping it young.

Navy 1

So this is a great look for a professional setting. I loooove the pleats, which are a very classic look. The patterned tights and statement jewelry keeps it fresh and interesting!

Navy 2

I think one of the hardest things about wearing navy is picking shoes! Tan is always good, as is silver and gold. I love leopard, though, with this outfit because it keeps it fun!

Navy 3

This is such a great blazer! Put it over a sweater dress, like it is here, or pair it with boyfriend jeans and flats for a casual look.

Are you a navy fan like me? How do you like to incorporate it?

One thought on “In the Navy

  1. I LOVE navy and often think it complements my skin slightly better than my beloved black. Don’t forget about navy eyeliner instead of black, which is super pretty. I like an all navy look paired with hot pink and cream or tan.

Leave a comment